As a driver, you probably know that you can be arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if you have been drinking and get behind the wheel. In California, the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is 0.08% for drivers aged 21 or older.
If you exceed this legal limit, you may face charges that can result in legal consequences, such as fines, probation, license revocation, and potential incarceration. In California, it is also illegal to operate a motor vehicle while impaired by drugs.
But what is the legal limit for driving under the influence of drugs (DUID)? California has various guidelines when it comes to legal limits for drug use while driving. The best way to understand these guidelines is to consult an attorney with experienced knowledge of DUI and DUID laws.
What are California’s DUID Laws?
In California, there is no specific legal limit for driving while under the influence of drugs. Unlike alcohol, which has a set limit, drugs are evaluated based on impairment. In January 2018, when the state began the use and sale of recreational marijuana, the regulators did not set a limit for drivers.
The lack of a specified legal limit often makes many people unsure how DUID arrests can be completed correctly. Typically, you can be arrested for driving while high in California if you are impaired to the point where you cannot operate a motor vehicle safely.
Various assessments and tests are used in DUID cases to determine impairment. After an arrest, the police may perform a blood test to detect the presence of marijuana or other types of drugs in your system. The enforcement officers may also use Field Sobriety Tests (FSTs) to assess your reflexes and physical abilities. They will then decide if you are impaired before making an arrest.
What are the Penalties for Driving While High in California?
California takes driving while high seriously. For a first-offense misdemeanor, you can face the following penalties:
- A fine ranging from about $390 to $1,000
- Potential license suspension
- A drug education program
- A possible jail time of up to six months
Contact a San Diego DUID Lawyer Today for Help
Impaired driving poses significant risks to public safety and is taken seriously by the state of California. If you have been arrested for a DUID, it’s advisable to contact an attorney who understands DUID laws to help you fight the charges.
If you are looking for an attorney, contact The Law Office of Elliott Kanter at (619) 231-1883 to schedule a free consultation and have your case evaluated by our lead San Diego DUID lawyer, Elliott Kanter.